Bookstravaganza, New Books, and The Rest

Hey Everyone!

Sorry it’s been a while. I’m so busy during the day applying for jobs, cooking, and reading that I always look up and realize that it’s time for bed… I feel like the days just speed by. I have no idea how those of you who work full time or go to school full time do it! I feel like I don’t have time for anything. I have to try to get more organized. I used to be crazy organized when I was in school… now I don’t plan my days, which is probably why they just disappear!

Anyways, on Tuesday, September 17, 2013, a friend and I went to Bookstravangza put on by Chatelaine and Random House Canada. It was an awesome event. Two authors (Wayne Johnston and Mary Swan) were present (and we got their new books- SO excited to start reading them!) as well as some editors. It was great to hear about the new Fall books coming out- my TBR list expanded so much! I definitely have to renew my library card so that I don’t keep spending my non-existent money on books! Sizzle reels were put together that showed the new books. I really appreciated those, expect for the ones about Mystery books and Movie Tie-In books because there were no explanations about the book, only the image of the front. I liked being able to read what the book was about as well as see the front. It also helped that the Editors talked about their favourite books. Listening to Wayne Johnston and Mary Swan discuss their books was definitely the highlight of the evening. Mr. Johnston was hilarious and Ms. Swan described the inspiration for her book. The swag bags we got were also awesome. They were jam packed with a whole bunch of things like shampoo, nail polish, and of course chocolate! I will definitely be attending this event next year, but instead of my friend I’ll be taking my mother- she was very upset I didn’t invite her this year!

Today my Chapters order arrived and I was very excited! The books I got were:
Delirium by Lauren Oliver
Sapphire Blue by Kiersten Gier
The Keeper of Lost Causes by Jossi Alder Olsen
Divergent Box Set by Veronica Roth
The Universe versus Alex Wood by Gavin Extence
The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce
Heist Society by Ally Carter

I am still working on my September reads. I am almost in the middle of Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince. I know everyone has already done it, but I will be writing a review when I am done the series.

I recently set up a Netgalley account to try to read new books and review them. This is definitely not for me. For some reason I just couldn’t get into ANY of the books I had requested even though all of them sounded so interesting. I’m not sure why I couldn’t. I think I might forget about those books for now and just concentrate on my J.K. Rowling books for the rest of the month.

So that is all that has been going on with me. I hope everyone is doing well and is enjoying their books!

Keep reading! 🙂

Leave a Reply

