Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Was Forced to Read

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly/feature meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

Top Ten Tuesday: Books I was Forced to Read

Usually I ignore when people tell me I HAVE to read a book, as long as it isn’t for a class, I generally ignore them… although recently I’ve started to listen to some people because they have good taste… and also because I am now part of some book clubs.

Books I was forced to read and really enjoyed:

1. The Book of Negroes by Lawrence Hill

negroes

I was forced to read the Book of Negroes for a Book Club I was part of. I resisted reading this book for quite a while (ok so 3 days before we were supposed to meet to discuss it was when I actually picked it up… but who’s counting?!). I really enjoyed the book and don’t know why I resisted for so long!

2. The Advantage by Patrick Lencioni

The-Advantage1

I was forced to read this business book by my employer who said “You could learn a thing or two!”. I’m so glad they forced me to read this book, not only did I learn a thing or two, but it also turned me on to other business books. I will forever be thankful to the employer who made me read this.

3.  Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

jane_eyre

I was forced to read this book for a class and I’m pretty sure I was the only one in the class who really enjoyed this book. I re-read it a few times since that class and fall in love with it again and again. It is such a great book!

4. The Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling

harry-potter-books

I was forced to read this series by my mother who said it was absolutely phenomenal. Well, she didn’t lie and now it is one of my favourite series… so much so that I have a goal of reading the series in English (which is now complete), Ukrainian, French and some day Spanish. I didn’t want to read this series originally because it seemed silly and very childish. I should have listened to my mother sooner!

5. Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte

wuthering-heights

Another book forced on me by a teacher, and again with good results. Loved loved loved this book. Such a good story and great characters. I’ve read it a few times since the first time I read it also.

6.  The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

The Hobbit 01

My mom read this book and immediately forced me to put down the book I was reading and read it. I loved it from the second I started reading it and couldn’t put it down. I really want to read the Lord of the Rings trilogy but we seem to only have the second book so I have to take the time to get the other two…

7. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Steig Larsson

the-girl-with-the-dragon-tattoo-2011

My mom forced me to read this one also… Apparently my mom has good taste in books….THANK YOU MOM!!! That’s all I can really say LOL!

 

Books I was forced to read and didn’t enjoy:

8. Hamlet (or most other Shakespeare books)

shekspireHamlet978-1-60501-599-6

I’m sure most kids were forced to read Hamlet or other plays written by Shakespeare when they were in school and so everyone can relate. I was completely lost while reading this and did not enjoy it at all. I’m sure if I picked it up now I might understand more of it, but right now Shakespeare is no where on my radar and so will not be enjoyed by me any time soon!

9. A Prayer For Owen Meany by John Irving

tumblr_lekzkqypHt1qzc0kho1_400

This book was forced upon me by one of my dearest friends who said I absolutely had to read this book- it was the best thing she had ever read and I could not call myself a reader until I had read this book. I read it (I guess I am not a reader) but I didn’t think it was the best book ever. It was good, but nothing to

10.  Wide Sargossa Sea by Jean Rhys

1001004001077799

Yet another book that I was forced to read for a class, but this one I really hated. I’m not sure what it was about this book that made me dislike it so much, but I wish I hadn’t been forced to read it. It might have been the fact that I had to read it quickly and respond to the stupidest questions about it…. Maybe one of these days I’ll pick it up again.

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Was Forced to Read

Leave a Reply

