Review: Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Cinder

Title: Cinder (Lunar Chronicles #1)
Author: Marissa Meyer
Publisher: Feiwel & Friends
Genre: Young Adult; Fantasy
Pages: 387 pages 
Obtained from: Purchased from Amazon.com 

Rating:
4 hippos 
out of  5 hippos

Synopsis (from Goodreads):
Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl. 

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future

My Thoughts:
I thought that this book was super cute! The plot was a take on Cinderella, but reimagined. The fact that the author managed to reimagine Cinderella as a cyborg and added in other weird and interesting facts still astounds me. I really enjoyed reading this new take on a classic. The book was a great mix of humour, sarcasm, and even heart break. 

I highly recommend this book if you love fairytales or even if you just want a good book to read. The characters are awesome and the story line is fantastic. It was a fairly quick read- it might have been because the book was so good, but I read it in a few days… normally a book with 300+ pages takes me longer than “a few days”.

Throughout the book I was so annoyed with Adri, Pearl and Queen Levana. I was so upset with what they did and just URGH!!!! Prince Kai- I could only imagine how handsome he was. The ending was NOT what I had imagined. I mean COME ON!!!! I can see why Marissa Meyer chose to end the book the way she did, but still!

I am very eager to get my hands on Scarlet (WHY MUST I HAVE SO MANY OTHER BOOKS TO READ?!) I love the writing style of Marissa Meyer and the creativity. I never would have dreamed up a cyborg Cinderella… those most I would have done is some animal version of it. Marissa Meyer is brilliant!

Leave a Reply

