#Boutofbooks 9.0 Wrap Up

Bout of Books has come to an end and I have to say that this time around I was quite successful. As I mentioned, I managed to finish 2/4 of my goals, and with todays post (which I’m counting), I will have completed 3/4 goals. My last goal of visiting blogs and commenting was not as successful. I did visit other people’s blogs, but rarely commented. I really have to start taking more time to comment on other people’s blogs, especially since I know it takes a while to create a post.

Wrap-Up

 

MY GOALS

  • To read 5 books
  • Complete a review for each book read
  • To complete all challenges
  • To visit 2-3 blogs and leave comments each day

MY STATUS (3/4 Goals):

  • To Read 5 Books– Although I didn’t read the 5 books I set out to read, I did accomplish my goal of 5 books. I had intended to read The Husband’s Secret and Steelheart, but when I had finished the other 3 books, I didn’t feel like picking those two up, and so changed them to Incarnate (since I was participating in the readathon) and An Abundance of Katherines.
    • The Boy in the Striped Pajamas
    • Vortex
    • Allegiant
    • An Abundance of Katherines
    • Incarnate
  • To Complete All Challenges- I managed to complete every challenge. The link to each of my entries can be found in my sign up post (http://wp.me/p3MKPG-fY)
  • Complete a review for each book read- I decided that the best way to do this was tie it into the Wrap-Up and do a mini review for all of the books.

Mini Reviews

The Boy in the Striped Pajamas 

200px-Theboyinthestripedpyjamas

This book was so cute, but it was also heart-breaking. I really enjoyed the way it was written and the characters within the book- it just goes to show you that just because someone is different than you are, doesn’t mean you can’t be friends. I thought it was smart of the author to have these characters who come from two completely different worlds still manage to become friends and share stories and a bond. John Boyne did a fabulous job with this book. Even though I didn’t live through the war, I still felt like I was able to connect with the characters, so much so that I felt completely heart-broken at the end of the book. I absolutely loved the title of Chapter 10: The Dot That Became a Speck That Became a Blob That Became a Figure That Became a Boy.

Overall I give this book: 3.5 hippos

Vortex

vortex

This was the second book in the Tempest series and follows Jackson through his training as an agent, as well as through the “battles” of his life. I enjoyed this book a lot more than I enjoyed Tempest, perhaps because the plot and characters were set up already and this book was just continuing on from where the other one left off. Parts of the book got confusing if you weren’t paying attention to the dates, but overall it was a good read. The ending was really interesting and I look forward to reading the final installment in this trilogy.

 

I give this book: 3.5 hippos

 

Allegiant 

Allegiant_novel_coverThere has been so much discussion around Allegiant I almost feel like its useless reviewing it. I did enjoy this book, and actually was surprised at the ending- Veronica Roth had the guts to do something that most authors wouldn’t… I give her kudos for that! I preferred the other two books to this one, I don’t know if its because I had heard so much against this book before I started reading it and so expected to be blown away by what happened, or what it is. This book is a great read and really helps move the story along, it just wasn’t my favourite out of the three novels.

Overall I give this book: 3 hippos

An Abundance of Katherines 

tumblr_m5956qXAUc1qa2q59o1_400An Abundance of Katherines is my favourite John Green book thus far. It was cute and funny and just awesome. Yes there was math involved, but I liked it. Maybe because I’m nerdy or related to Colin, I don’t know but I loved this book. The book jumps between “Katherine” stories and the present day as Colin tries to navigate the crazy world of dating Katherines. The ending was a bit obvious fairly early on, but it was still cute. I guess what shocked me the most was that Colin was able to find 19 Katherines… I don’t know how he did it!

Overall, I give this book: 4.5 hippos

Incarnate 

download (1)

First of all, this cover- it is absolutely gorgeous! The colours, the photo, the butterfly wings, it just works! Second, the plot- so imaginative, so creative, so awesome. I really enjoyed reading this book. I started it yesterday for the Incarnate Read-a-thon and meant to space out my reading over the week but once I started I couldn’t put it down! It was such an awesome story I can’t wait to read the other books in the series. Jodi Meadows did an awesome job with this book- how can one person be so darn creative?! I am jealous!!!!! I think my favourite part in the book was the rededication ceremony- what it stands for and how they celebrate it is awesome- true love never fails!!!!

Overall I give this book: 4 hippos

I really enjoyed participating in the Bout of Books Read-a-thon. It was a great way to kick off the year for reading and I hope I continue my reading streak throughout the year. I look forward to participating in the next one and highly recommend participating to those of you who haven’t yet. It is not only a great way to decrease your TBR pile, but also an awesome way to meet friends.

Check out: http://boutofbooks.blogspot.ca/ for more information!

2 thoughts on “#Boutofbooks 9.0 Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

