Review: Hair of the Corn Dog by A.K. Turner

In 2013 I came across a posting on Goodreads about an author wanting people to review her book. I read the synopsis and thought it sounded interesting and agreed to review it for the author. BEST DECISION EVER! The book, Mommy Had a Little Flask, was absolutely hilarious! You can find my review here. The author, A.K. Turner is coming out with a new book, Hair of the Corn Dog, and was looking for people to review it. I couldn’t say no! A.K. Turner is probably one of my favourite authors ever! 

Hair of the Corn DogTitle: Hair of the Corn Dog
Author: A.K. Turner
Publisher: Fever Street Press
Publication Date: February 27, 2014
Format: Paperback, 220 pages
Source: Obtained from Author in exchange for review
(** Review is my own honest opinion**)
Rating:
5 hippos(out of 5 hippos)

Synopsis (from Goodreads):
In the latest laugh-out-loud confessional from A.K. Turner’s “Tales of Imperfection” series, the author relates her adventures on the Jersey Shore, at an Idaho drag show with her in-laws, and surviving the perils of an elementary school ice-cream social with equal parts wit and heart. The laughter pairs well with two parts cocktail.

My Review:
I really don’t know how you can go wrong by writing a “confessional” but then again if I were to write a book about my life I’m pretty sure no one would want to buy it. A.K. Turner’s newest “confessional” Hair of the Corn Dog, is just as good as her previous books. Anyone who has a pulse will absolutely love this book, and those of you with in-laws and kids will probably enjoy it even more! A.K. Turner tells it how it is, she doesn’t hide the facts or worry about saying something offense. I spent almost the entire time reading the book laughing my head off. I even had to get my husband to read portions of the book, even though he isn’t a reader (and he told me he now wants to read the book!).

I completely agree with some of the things that A.K. Turner discusses, especially when she discussed cleaning and the fact that her family just doesn’t understand her cleaning habits. I 100% agree with you about the fact that there is a difference between a paper towel and a clean dish towel. People just definitely have to take a test!!!

Although I don’t have kids, I still managed to connect with Amanda and some of the other characters. I enjoyed listening to the adventures of going to street festivals and to movies in the park. You make life so much fun! All I can say is that you are ridiculously entertaining!

As if the entire book wasn’t already awesome enough, A.K. Turner had to go one step further and make the Acknowledgement super cute: “One last heap of mushy love for my phenomenal husband. This marriage thing is so much cooler than I ever thought it could be”

By the away A.K. Turner, I am going to be waiting for my great fortune! It better turn up 😉

Favourite Quotes:
“And I was sorry. But I was also relieved that the three days, which we failed to complete, ended poorly for him, because he was less likely to want to do it again. And I learned from the experience that my body runs primarily on toxins” (26)

“She went from animated queen to animated real housewife of Disneyland” (94)

2 thoughts on “Review: Hair of the Corn Dog by A.K. Turner

Leave a Reply

