Book Tour: The Riddle of Prague by Laura DeBruce

FSVBT_TheRiddleOfPrague_Banner


Cover_TheRiddleOfPragueGRTitle:
 The Riddle of Prague
Author: Laura DeBruce
Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing
Publication Date: September 17, 2013
Format: Paperback, 212 pages
Source: Received from Author for Blog Tour
(** Review and thoughts are my own honest opinions**)

Rating:
3 hippos (out of 5 hippos)

Synopsis (from Goodreads):
When 18-year-old Hana Silna travels to Prague to reclaim her family’s ancestral home, she finds herself on an unexpected adventure in a city brimming with ancient secrets. She discovers a riddle by the infamous alchemist Edward Kelley that claims to lead to a long-last flask. The contents of that flask could change the fate of the world. When a ruthless enemy kidnaps her family, Hana has to find the flask to rescue them. On her quest she meets a mysterious man with a penchant for poetry, a Gypsy girl with a haunting past, and Alex, the motorcycle-riding son of a U.S. diplomat. Alex — who’s trying to save his sister from a crippling disease — joins Hana on her race across Bohemia to find the hidden flask. It’s hard to trust anyone when the stakes are this high — especially when surrounded by experts at deception. There’s only one flask and Hana desperately needs to find it. The Riddle of Prague is the first of the Quicksilver Legacy Trilogy

About the Author (from Goodreads):
AuthorPic2

LAURA DEBRUCE worked in the television business in Prague where she fell in love with the city and its legends. She is a documentary filmmaker and writer who currently lives in Maryland. The Riddle of Prague is her first novel.

 

To learn more please visit www.theriddleofprague.com

 

Excerpt:

“Are you from Prague?” I ask.

“I s’pose you could say that.” There’s a playful look on his face.

“Would you say that?”

Before he answers, the plane swoops to the side, and I clench my fists. David glances toward the seated flight attendants. He pulls a green bottle and two plastic cups out of his bag. “D’you like Becherovka?”

“Is it alcohol?” Immediately I regret the question. Of course it’s alcohol.

“It’s medicinal,” he claims. “A unique Bohemian spirit. Czechs keep some in the medicine cabinet and give it to their children for all sorts of reasons.”

“I didn’t think we were allowed to bring alcohol on the plane.”

“We are if no one sees us.” David tips the bottle to pour. “I take it you’re not much of a rule breaker.”

“It depends on the rule,” I reply curtly.

“I take full responsibility if we get caught.” He hands over a cup filled with thick, golden liquid.

“Na zdravi!”

I take a tentative sip. The Becherovka tastes like a mix of spices and juniper. “It’s not bad.” I drink a little more.

“Glad you like it.” David tops up my cup. “I’m sure Simona and Michal keep a bottle at The Rockery, like all good Czechs. Peek in the medicine cabinet—you’ll see I’m right.” He’s very friendly. A sudden yawn escapes me. “Hana? You all right?”

“I’m suddenly really tired.” I stretch a bit.

“Close your eyes then,” David says soothingly. As I lean against the seatback, I wonder: Did I mention Simona’s husband? How did David know his name? Before I can ask, my eyelids drop, and I’m pulled into a deep and sudden sleep.

My Review:
I don’t know what it was about this book that I wasn’t totally gung ho about it. It was really well written and was really interesting, but for some reason I found it really tough to plow through! Don’t get me wrong, the book was good- it was fun and definitely went in directions I didn’t think it would, but for some inexplicable reason I couldn’t get into it. This book was fantasy and mystery and did really well with the mystery portion. The characters were also a lot of fun. I will definitely give this book another try, it might just have been the mood I was in when I was reading it. If you enjoy fantasy and mystery then be sure to check this book out!

** GIVEAWAY**

One randomly chosen commenter will win a $50 Amazon/BN.com gift card
a Rafflecopter giveaway

4 thoughts on “Book Tour: The Riddle of Prague by Laura DeBruce

  1. This has been a most awesome blog tour! I enjoyed the reviews, the great exerpts, the book trailer and especially the fabulous artwork you showcased. With the staggering amount of research put into this book as well a your own personal life experiences I have no doubt this is a best seller. Thanks for sharing and best of luck.

    ilookfamous(at)yahoo(dot)com

Leave a Reply

