Review: A Darker Blood and The Vampire Katya by Jennifer Lawrence

 https://www.facebook.com/pages/V%C3%A9rad%C3%B3-A-Darker-Blood/190748987603335

A Darker Blood (Véradó, #1).

Title: A Darker Blood
Author: Jennifer Lawrence
Publisher: MuseItUp Publishing
Publication Date: March 13, 2013
Format: Ebook, 318 pages
Source: Received from Author in exchange for honest review
(** All comments and thoughts are my own and were not influenced by the author**)

Rating:
3 hippos (out of 5 hippos)

Synopsis (from Goodreads):
A cocktail of romance, passion, and blood lust greet Nicole Silverson as she ventures to the sun-drenched Mediterranean island of Crete.

Nicole has a passion for the paranormal, and it’s that passion that prompts a stay in the wild party resort of Malia.

In her quest to gain information and make new friends, she falls in with several of the town’s bar-staff and night-workers. After witnessing the gruesome death of two strangers, Nicole becomes unwittingly initiated into the secret society that her new friends tried to spare her from. She becomes a Véradó —a mortal, willing to sustain a coven of vampires with her blood.Within the spellbinding walls of an ancient courtyard bar named Zeus Xenia.

Marshall is the vampire dominating a coven of four. He is strong, proud, respected, and feared. His motives are never questioned and his loyalties are fathomless. Nicole becomes his Véradó and the compulsion drawing her to him tests his self control to its lethal limit

My Review:

It’s been a few days since I finished reading this book and I’m still not sure how I feel about the book. I liked some aspects of it- the mystery, the characters, and the love story, but there were some aspects which I could have lived without. I thought that the love story between Marshall and Nicole was really well written and I kept routing for them. The fact that this story took place in Crete was also very unique- most vampire stories seem to take place in “dark and gloomy” locations, not a sunny island. This book was a good read- it was fun and was not your typical run of the mill vampire story. I mean, yes the vampires still had to kill people to drink their blood, but would it be a vampire story if this didn’t happen? I thought the ending was a really great way to finish off the entire book… you’ll have to read it to find out what the ending was!

The Vampire Katya (Verado #2)

Title: The Vampire Katya
Author: Jennifer Lawrence
Publisher: MuseItUp Publishing
Publication Date: September 25, 2013
Format: Ebook
Source: Received from Author in exchange for honest review
(** All comments and thoughts are my own and were not influenced by the author**)

Rating:
3 hippos (out of 5 hippos)

Synopsis (from Goodreads):
Set against a modern Venetian backdrop, a beautiful vampire recounts details of her turbulent past to a mortal by the name of Alessandro.

Alessandro Knight is a Véradó–a mortal willing to part with his blood to sustain a coven of vampires. With his dreams haunted by her beauty, he has crossed the continent in search of the Hungarian vampire known simply as Katya.

With her rich history unfolding through a series of dreams and discussions, Alessandro finds himself impulsively drawn to her and longs to be the one to sustain her. But Katya is a hunter, cold and impassive, and Alessandro soon realises that to win her heart it will take more than just blood

My Review:

This is the second book in the series and follows the vampire Katya and is set in Venice. This book is also a love story, but follows the mortal Alessandro as he falls in love with Katya. Again, there were aspects of this book that I liked- I really enjoy Jennifer’s writing style and her character development, but there was something in the book that just didn’t grab me like some books do. Don’t get me wrong, it is a fun read and I recommend that you pick up this book if you enjoy reading about vampires.

About the Author (from Goodreads):
Having spent my life in the heart of England, I am truly English to the core and love to embrace all of the traditions this country has to offer.

After spending ten years working in digital imaging, imagery has come to mean everything to me and I try to get that across in my storytelling.

Next to writing, my other great passions are amateur photography and very amateur ghost hunting. My husband, kids, and cats keep me on my toes, but when I do get time to myself, I love to light a few candles, relax, and immerse myself in my writing.

Leave a Reply

