Review: I Just Want to Be Alone Anthology

Alone

 

Amanda Turner (aka AK Turner) author of This Little Piggy went to the Liquor Store, recently asked if I was willing to read the I Just Want To Be Alone anthology that was written by some “Some Super Cool Lady Writers”. I flipped through the Anthology and immediately emailed her back and said of course!

Title: I Just Want To Be Alone (Book 2 in the I Just Want to Pee Alone Series)
Author: Some Super Cool Lady Writers
Publisher:  @throat_punchbooks
Format: Paperback, 205 pages
Source: Received from Author in exchange for an honest review

Synopsis (from Goodreads):

The second volume in the best-selling I Just Want to Pee Alone series!

Don’t get us wrong, we love the men in our lives – we do (most of the time). It’s just that sometimes we would like them to go away. Not forever or anything like that. Just for an hour … or a day … or a weekend. We want some time to ourselves to read a good book or take a walk or do anything other than try to make a dent in the never ending mound of dirty clothes that keeps piling up on the floor on his side of the bed. We just want to be alone. All alone. Is that too much to ask?

I Just Want to Be Alone is a collection of humorous essays from 37 of the most Super Cool Lady Writers you’ll find on the web. Including: People I Want to Punch in the Throat, Baby Sideburns, A.K. Turner, My Husband Ate All My Ice Cream, and Bad Parenting Moments.

Read hilarious essays like:

Open Letter To My Son (Or: Your Mother’s Top 10 List of Ways Not to Be a Douchebag Husband)

Exploding With Love, Literally

Romance is Overrated

Life With the Thin Guy

Dear Magnolia, Should I Marry This Man?

My Review: 

After just reading the Table of Contents I was already laughing. How can you read a title such as “Open Letter To My Son (Or: Your Mother’s Top 10 List of Ways Not to Be a Douchebag Husband)” and keep a straight face? It’s just not possible. Not only is this book hilarious, but it also has some pretty good advice! Each essay is written by a different author and gives you a behind the scenes view of their love life. Each story is so well written and a lot of fun to read.

 

One of the things I really liked was that each author wrote their own story so you got multiple perspectives and different writing styles. I felt like I was having girls night with my girls and dishing about our husbands and boyfriends. You are bound to find at least one story that really sticks with you and makes you shake your head. It was fun to be able to hear what other women have experienced.

This book is definitely a must read for women of all ages.

Rating:

5 hippos out of 5 hippos

Leave a Reply

