Review + Interview: Foretold by Rinda Elliot

I was contacted by Mary-Theresa from Harlequin Teen asking if I would be interested in reading a new novel that is YA paranormal with Norse mythology overtones. Recently I’ve been reading more books that have mythology/folklore tied into them in some way. I don’t know if I’ve just become more interested in these kinds of books or if more authors are including them in their novels. Nonetheless, I liked the sound of this novel and decided to give it a try.


Foretold

Foretold

Title: Foretold
Author: Rinda Elliot
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Publication Date: April 1, 2014
Format: Kindle, 310 pages
Source: Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review


 Synopsis

From Goodreads

It is written that three Sisters of Fate have the power
to change the world’s destiny.
But only if they survive…

The Lockwood triplets have had the prophecy drummed into their heads since birth. Still, Raven, the eldest of the sisters, can’t believe it’s really happening. She’s the reincarnation of a Norse goddess? One of the sisters is destined to die? When it starts snowing in summer in Florida, the sisters fear the worst has come to pass. Ragnarok, the Norse end of the world, has begun.

Raven finds herself the secret protector of Vanir, a boy with two wolves, a knowledge of Norse magic and a sense of destiny he can’t quite explain. He’s intense, sexy and equally determined to save her when it becomes clear someone is endangering them. Raven doesn’t know if getting closer to him will make a difference in the coming battle, but her heart isn’t giving her a choice.

Ahead of the sisters is the possibility of death at the hand of a warrior, death by snow, death by water or death by fire.

Or even from something else…

Sisters of Fate
The prophecy doesn’t lie: one is doomed to die


About the Author

From Goodreads

Rinda ElliotI love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children.

I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.

You can find me at http://relliott4.wordpress.com & http://www.deadlinedames.com


Interview with Rinda 

Tanya: First of all I want to thank you Rinda for taking the time to answer my questions! 

Rinda: Thanks again for inviting me to be on your blog.

What made you decide to become an author?

Love of books. I read everything I could get my hands on from the time I learned to read and in grade school, I started writing my own stories. I never wanted to be anything else.

When you were younger what did you see yourself becoming?

Always saw myself writing in some capacity. I flirted with the idea of journalism, but I don’t have the right sort of personality. Plus, I just love fiction. Books, movies, etc.

What was your favourite book as a child? What is your favourite book now?

As a child. I loved Beverly Cleary and Judy Blume. I also remember this book I read so many times when I was little, it fell apart. It was called Christina Katrina and the Box. I also liked Where the Wild Things Are. I graduated to mostly supernatural fiction and romance early. Read my first Harlequin romance at twelve. I don’t really have a favorite book now. I read so much! If I’m not writing, I’m almost always reading.

If you had to choose, which author would you consider to be your mentor?

I didn’t really have a mentor. I’ve had different critique groups for years, but about seven or eight years ago, I started working with Rachel Vincent (Soul Screamers, Shifters, Bound books) and we’ve stuck ever since. The two of us plot, critique–we’re our own critique group now.

What book are you currently reading?

I’ve got several loaded on my Kindle and ready to go. Just finished Firelight by Sophie Jordan and enjoyed it, so I’ll probably pick up the next in her series soon.

What inspired you to write Foretold?

A LOVE for Norse mythology and stories of survival where people discover their own inner strength. I also have a fascination with how history as we know it changes the more we learn. The Heavener Runestone in FORETOLD really exists. I love speculating on how ancient Norse runes ended up in Oklahoma. So, I created a fun story surrounding the stone.

Which character in Foretold do you most relate to? Where any of the characters based on friends and family?

I related to Raven as the oldest of three sisters. So, there are bits of me in her. My family also moved a lot and met a lot of interesting people when I was growing up, so I used a few of those experiences as well.

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in Foretold?

Possibly, but they’d be boring writerly structural things. As far as the characters, no. I loved Raven and Vanir instantly and they had such wonderful chemistry.

Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

That I truly enjoy writing young adult books. I hadn’t written for this age group before these books and flirted with the idea of writing these with adult protagonists, but the story didn’t work that way. Plus, Vanir and Raven were such strong characters for me, they deserved to be in the book. Turns out, I love writing YA. I already have more in the works.

Thanks again Rinda for taking the time to answer my questions! It was an honour to have you on my blog! 🙂 


My Review

This book was a really good read. I enjoyed the characters, the plot, and really enjoyed the mythological aspects. When I was first approached to read this book I was told it was going to be a YA paranormal with Norse mythology elements, I was curious about this book. As I mentioned, I’m really interested in mythology/folklore lately and really enjoy when author’s throw these aspects into their novels.

I really enjoyed the writing style and the way the story flowed. The plot moved well and didn’t slow too much in any areas. The characters were also really well developed. I really liked the romance between Raven and Vanir. You couldn’t help by fall in love with Vanir- he just wanted to help everyone and keep his family safe. I enjoyed reading about Raven- books that have strong female characters are so great, really empowering to women.

Overall, I enjoyed this book. The characters were a lot of fun and the writing was really good. The Norse mythology was interesting to read about.


My Rating

4 hippos out of 5 hippos

4/5

 

Leave a Reply

