Review: Revenge is Sweet by Betta Ferrendelli

Image by FlamingText.com

Last year I was lucky enough to be able to review Betta Ferrendelli’s book The Friday Edition (review). I absolutely loved the book and was excited to learn that there would be a second book- Revenge Is Sweet released. Betta contacted me and asked if I would be interested in reviewing her second book Revenge is Sweet… obviously I said yes!


Revenge is Sweet

20644850

Title: Revenge is Sweet
Author: Betta Ferrendelli
Publisher: CreateSpace
Publication Date: January 29, 2014
Format: Paperback, 284 pages
Source: Received from author in exchange for an honest review


 Synopsis 

From Goodreads

Revenge is a dish best served with blood…

In Revenge is Sweet, the sequel to The Friday Edition, Samantha Church is back and the stakes are higher than ever. 
In a sinister quest to settle the score, the drug dealers she thwarted are no longer motivated by money or politics, they want one thing and one thing only: Revenge…

Snow swirls on a cold February night when reporter Samantha Church and her publisher Wilson Cole Jr. are kidnapped. Days following the kidnapping, Sam wakes up in a hospital bed, dazed, bruised and confused. Why did they let her go? It makes no sense. It is only when the kidnappers make their next move does she realize why they let her go. 

The kidnappers want to hurt Sam by harming those she loves most, her best friend and coworker, Wilson Cole Jr., and worse, her daughter, April. They taunt Sam, wanting to break her down mentally, physically and emotionally—pretty little April, watch her bleed, pretty little April, now we’ll have some fun. Say bye-bye, pretty little April will die before your eyes.

Revenge doesn’t come any sweeter. Or does it? Is all hope seemingly lost? Or is revenge a two-way street? Does Sam have a plan of her own for the kidnappers—one that will finally settle the score?


About the Author

From Goodreads

I was born in Trinidad, Colorado and grew up in Denver. I am a graduate of Metropolitan State University of Denver with a degree in communications and a minor in journalism. I have been lucky enough to work in my field all my professional life. I have been an award-winning journalist since 1989, having worked at newspapers in Denver, Seattle and Albuquerque.

I began my journalism career in 1989 working for The Raton Range, a small newspaper in northern New Mexico. During my three-year stay, I earned more than a dozen writing awards, including the Guy Radar Award, which recognized best medical reporting in the state. I won the award for chronicling a man’s battle with breast cancer.

I returned to Denver in 1992, to work for a group of community weekly newspapers covering the west side. I worked in the Mile High City until 1997, when I landed a job with a newspaper in Washington State. I moved to Bainbridge Island, where I lived and worked for two newspapers until 2004. Though I loved living in the Pacific Northwest, I decided I wanted to return to the Southwest and landed a position in 2004 as managing editor for the Rio Rancho Observer, covering Rio Rancho, the third largest city in New Mexico. I worked for The Observer and lived in Albuquerque through September 2007. I earned more than a dozen writing award while leading the editorial team at The Observer, including a “Public Service” award from the New Mexico Press Association. The series of articles highlighted the poor post office situation in Rio Rancho. I always like to think it was because of our series that the postal service eventually improved for the city. The International Society of Weekly Newspaper Editors (ISWNE) also recognized me in 2005 and 2006 for excellence in editorial writing.

I returned to Denver in 2007 to work for the same community weekly newspapers covering Denver’s west side—this time as editor. I left the papers in 2008. I continue to write professionally today for magazines. I currently write for the O&P EDGE magazine, a niche healthcare publication in Northglenn, Colorado.


My Review

Revenge is Sweet is the second book in the Samantha Church Mystery series. It picks up exactly where The Friday Edition ends, and continues with the adventure of Samantha Church. I enjoyed this book but not as much as I enjoyed the first one. Don’t get me wrong, this is a very well written book-  it develops Samantha as a character more,  and has a lot of mystery and adventure in it, I just preferred the first book. The relationship between Samantha and her daughter is further developed in this book- or I should say, the failed attempts at a relationship are further explored. I enjoyed that there were snippets from the past that were added into this book.

Overall, a well written continuation of the first book. I look forward to more Samantha Church mysteries.


My Rating

3.5 out of 5

Leave a Reply

