Blog Tour- Guest Post: The Art of Lainey by Paula Stokes

Art of Lainey Blog Tour

This books sounds like it would be such a perfect read for the summer, and the cover is absolutely adorable. I really cannot wait to get my hands on this books. I was lucky enough to be able to have Paula write a guest post for me. You might find some of her answers to be very interesting 🙂

The Art of Lainey 

Art of Lainey Cover

Title: The Art of Lainey
Author: Paula Stokes
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date: May 20, 2014
Format: Paperback, 384 pages


Synopsis

Soccer star Lainey Mitchell is gearing up to spend an epic summer with her amazing boyfriend, Jason, when he suddenly breaks up with her—no reasons, no warning, and in public no less! Lainey is more than crushed, but with help from her friend Bianca, she resolves to do whatever it takes to get Jason back.

And that’s when the girls stumble across a copy of The Art of War. With just one glance, they’re sure they can use the book to lure Jason back into Lainey’s arms. So Lainey channels her inner warlord, recruiting spies to gather intel and persuading her coworker Micah to pose as her new boyfriend to make Jason jealous. After a few “dates”, it looks like her plan is going to work! But now her relationship with Micah is starting to feel like more than just a game.

What’s a girl to do when what she wants is totally different from what she needs? How do you figure out the person you’re meant to be with, if you’re still figuring out the person you’re meant to be?


About the Author 

Paula Stokes is half writer, half RN, and totally thrilled to be part of the world of YA literature. She grew up in St. Louis, Missouri where she graduated from Washington University and the Goldfarb School of Nursing. When she’s not writing, she’s kayaking, hiking, reading, or seeking out new adventures in faraway lands. Paula loves interacting with readers! Find her online at www.authorpaulastokes.com or on twitter as @pstokesbooks.

Follow Paula:

Guest Post:

10 Things You Might Not Know About Paula Stokes 

  1. I’m single but have been engaged three times. One time the guy cheated. One time the guy became extremely controlling. The third breakup was mutual. Still, I’m pretty cautious when it comes to romance these days.
  2. I spent a year teaching English in Seoul, South Korea and this profoundly affected the way I view the world. One of my biggest goals is to write a novel set in Seoul.
  3. I once spent a huge chunk of scholarship disbursement on hospital bills for my cat, Taz. I respect the fact that some people think spending thousands of dollars on an animal is irresponsible, but Taz has sat on my lap and literally licked tears from my face when my world felt like it was crumbling, so yeah, he’s worth it.
  4. I’m an Aries, which I believe in a little bit, and an INFP which I believe in a lot. Find your own Myers-Briggs type here (no registration required.) Then for fun, find your Harry Potter equivalent. I’m Luna (as if there was any doubt!)
  5. Besides fiction writing, I’ve worked a bajillion jobs, including residential care worker at a girls’ home, restaurant cook, kitchen manager, sporting goods manager, veterinary assistant, medical recruiter, hospital registration clerk, English teacher, test-bank writer, freelance editor, and registered nurse.
  6. When I was little, I wanted to be a magician’s assistant. Or a dolphin trainer. I still kind of want to do both of those things.
  7. My first novel got a full request at a conference, but was rejected. I never subbed it anywhere else. My second novel got a full request at a different conference by a different agent, and was also rejected. I never subbed it anywhere else. I think one of my strengths as a writer is knowing when my work is up to par. These books had great, enticing beginnings, but they weren’t good enough. Instead of spending months revising them, I started The Art of Lainey.
  8. I DNF about 50% of the books I start. Not because I am a super-critical reader, but because there are too many books out there to “commit” to ones I don’t love.
  9. My fear landscape would include sharks, cancer, tight spaces, nail guns, and evil sentient garbage disposals.
  10. In addition to the overall blog tour contests, I’m giving away a copy of the YA Valentines’ books to one random person who comments on this post during the Canada tour and tells me their Myers-Briggs type and why they think it does or doesn’t fit them. Winner to be announced at the end of the blog tour.
  11. BONUS FACT!! I just sold two more books to HarperTeen, one of which is called BAD LUCK CHARM and combines all the swoons and banter from THE ART OF LAINEY with higher stakes and a surprise ending.
5 thoughts on “Blog Tour- Guest Post: The Art of Lainey by Paula Stokes

  1. To point 11, CONGRATS, Paula! Can’t wait to read any/all of your upcoming books! To point 2, I hope you’ll be able to at some point! I’d love to read it. 🙂

    And to point 4, I am an Aries as well, thought I’m INFJ based on one of the Myers-Briggs tests I’ve taken (Lupin–the HP chart was the first thing I checked out after that). I’ve looked up what it means on Wikipedia and save for one or two more minor aspects, it is actually SO fitting for me! I think I can fluctuate between J and P (I’m really indecisive, but I think I come off as a J to many people, and I like knowing if something’s coming up so I can plan, just as long as I’m not the one that needs to decide on something big). But really, I was blown away by accurate and so totally me it is! I would go into detail, but it’s basically what it says on Wikipedia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/INFJ)

  2. Hi Paula,
    Great book excerpt! I’m an ISFJ and feel that the test was about 90% accurate. It said I liked working with people one-on-one or in small groups, which is true, as I’m a life coach for about 30 years now, although my real passion is writing. (I’m a published author.)Congratulations on your publishing successes!
    ~Carole Avila

  3. I just happen to know that I’m an INTJ. I’m right on the cusp between an N/S, but I’m strongly set on the I, T, and J. It fits me very well. I’m highly rational, a very logical thinker, and I don’t really like crowds or people. LOL. And now I’m thinking about sentient garbage disposals. Thanks!

  4. I’m with you on #3!!! I would never EVER think that spending a large amount of money on my kitty’s health is irresponsible or feel guilty for doing it. My cat is my best friend, so if she ever needs medical treatment, I’m willing to pay whatever the cost.

    And woo-hoo, congrats on #11!

Leave a Reply

