Book Tour: Hipocrisy by Daniel M. Annechino

Hipocrisy 

Book Cover - HypocrisyTitle: Hipocrisy
Author: D.M. Annechino
Format: Paperback
Source: Received from iRead Book Tours in exchange for an honest review

Tour Schedule for Hypocrisy


Synopsis 

Dr. Lauren Crawford is a brilliant research scientist who discovers a revolutionary treatment for cancer that not only extends life, but much improves the quality of life for terminal cancer patients. The treatment, in some instances, can even cure certain cancers. On the evening before Dr. Crawford holds a press conference to announce that the FDA has given preliminary approval of her new cancer treatment, somebody follows her to her car and puts three bullets in her head. Was it a planned murder with a motive, a mugging gone badly, or merely a random act of violence?

Two New York City homicide detectives, Amaris Dupree and T.J. Brown, are assigned to the investigation. The detectives evaluate the circumstances surrounding Dr. Crawford’s death, and follow a trail of clues that exposes a sequence of startling facts. One by one, the detectives carefully examine each suspect and piece together a puzzle with unimaginable implications. As the investigation gets more intense, and the detectives get closer to solving the murder mystery, someone threatens Dupree’s life. The detectives now realize that Dr. Crawford’s murder was much more than a homicide. And if they don’t arrest the murderer soon, Dupree might be the next victim.

Buy Links: 

Amazon   |   Barnes & Nobles   |   Book Depository


About the Author

Daniel M. Annechino, a former book editor specializing in full-length fiction, wrote his first book, How to Buy the Most Car for the Least Money, in 1992 while working as a General Manager in the automobile business. But his passion had always been fiction, particularly thrillers. He spent two years researching serial killers before finally penning his gripping and memorable debut novel They Never Die Quietly. His second book Resuscitation (Thomas & Mercer 2011), a follow-up to his first novel, hit #1 in Kindle sales in both the USA and UK. He is also the author of I Do Solemnly Swear (Thomas & Mercer 2012). Hypocrisy, is Annechino’s fourth novel.

A native of New York, Annechino now lives in San Diego with his wife, Jennifer. He loves to cook, enjoys a glass of vintage wine, and spends lots of leisure time on the warm beaches of Southern California.

Author Links: 

Website   |   Facebook   |   Twitter


Guest Post 

The Life of an Author

An ex­workmate of mine who I haven’t seen since I quit my “traditional job”, contacted me the other day because he’s writing a novel and is looking for some direction. He asked me a bunch of questions that I did my best to answer, questions about grammar, editing, literary agents, and getting published. As I typed
away, I realized that not one of his questions concerned marketing or promotion. This led me to believe
that many aspiring writers—through no fault of their own—have no idea what the life of an author is like.

There was a time many years ago when an author did three things: They wrote. They read. They
participated in book signings. But in this day and age, an age of e­books, the Internet, and self­publishing,
writers spend more time marketing themselves than actually writing. Unless you’re a well­known author
with an established following like Stephen King, Michael Connelly, or Patricia Cornwell, promoting
yourself may actually be more important than what you’re promoting. In other words, “the sizzle is more
important than the steak”. Buzz is everything and buzz sells books.

Over the last couple of years, I’ve learned a great deal about the complicated world of writing. Although I
have a long, long way to go before I could even begin to think of myself as a successful writer, each and
every day I must manage my blog/web site and frequently add new posts. I have to maintain a presence at
many of the popular writers’ blogs. And perhaps most important, I must be visible on Facebook and
Twitter and network as much as I can. I have to promote my book(s) and myself every-­single-­day.

To be honest, I’m not really fond of marketing and promoting myself. I wish all that was necessary to
become a successful writer was to write. But that is not the way of the world; at least not in the year
2014. So, even though it pains me and gobbles up more of my day than it should, the new world of writing
holds me hostage. Before you even think about publishing a book, do some homework and learn to
understand the business of writing.


My Review

This is one book I could not put down once I picked it up. I at first thought it was going to be your standard “mystery” book and was going to be kind of boring- you know those books that seem to follow a formula, and even though they are good, they are laid out exactly how you expect them to be? This book was definitely not like that. It took turns I didn’t expect and was really well written. I really enjoyed getting to know the characters- especially Amaris Dupree. It was great watching her grow as an individual. I liked that Amaris and T.J. were still getting to know one another which allowed the readers to get to know them through their stories that they told each other. I really enjoyed this book and highly recommend this book especially to those who enjoy mystery/CSI type books.

My Rating

4 hippos

4 out of 5 Hippos


Thank you to

iRead Book Tour Logo Medium

for allowing me to join this book tour

3 thoughts on “Book Tour: Hipocrisy by Daniel M. Annechino

  1. Pingback: Book Review: Hypocrisy by Daniel M. Annechino | Hotchpotch

Leave a Reply

