It’s Not a Competition…

I have been blogging about books (terribly) for a little over a year now. I’m absolutely terrible at keeping up with my blog… it always seems to be the last thing I want to do, I’d much rather hunker down on the coach with a book and read it rather than blog about it. Then there are times (like right now) where I get this burst of OMG I WANT TO WRITE ABOUT BOOKS AND DISCUSS THEM AND OMG MUST BLOG!!!!! and I start paying more attention to my blog. This never lasts, but I always hope it will! Anyways, I think one thing that contributes to my lack of want to blog is the fact that I don’t read THAT much…

Let me explain.

I read. Every day I try to read for at least an hour (even though this doesn’t always happen because life gets in the way). On my commute to and from work I try to listen to my audio book or read my “subway” read. I do read… I just don’t read “enough”. Lately I’ve been seeing a lot of book tubers discussing how in 1 week they have read 4 books! 4 BOOKS IN 1 WEEK?! How the heck did they do that? To top that off, there are a number who do their monthly wrap-ups and talk about how they read 10+ books in the entire month. I see these and then feel terrible that in my month I managed to finish 4 books. This leads me to not really want to blog. Most of the books I have read are older books and I mean who wants to read about an old book from me when these big name booktubers and book bloggers have discussed that book 3 + months ago?!

I was thinking about this last night as I was watching some booktuber or other and I realized that I shouldn’t feel bad that I only read 4 books in a month. It’s good that I read 4 books, some people don’t read any! Yes I won’t ever become a big name book blogger, one of the “go to” people for recommendations, but that’s not why I started my blog, I started it so that I could share my love of books with others, and by reading 4 books a month and discussing them I am doing exactly that! I realized that last night. It doesn’t matter how many or what kind of books I have read, I love reading and discussing those books with others so why would I shy away from blogging about it because of my low reading numbers? It’s not a competition, it’s just purely for the joy of reading.

Leave a Reply

