Book Tour: Elle (Room Two in the Hotelles Trilogy) by Emma Mars

I’m pretty sure there are very few people out there who haven’t heard of 50 Shades of Grey, it has rocked the nation with its provocative story line and erotic scenes. Other books from the erotic/romantic book genre have a lot to live up to (Okay not really because I personally don’t believe the 50 Shades of Grey books were really great “literature”, they were good for a “kick” but not much else). When TLC Book Tours offered the chance to read Hotelle and Elle, I figured I should give some other erotic/romantic books I shot (especially since 50 Shades has spoiled this genre for me), find out what I thought below!

elle cover

Title: Elle
Author: Emma Mars
Publisher: Harper Perennial
Format: 435, Paperback
Source: Received from TLC Book Tours in exchange for an honest review

Synopsis

(From Goodreads)

A spellbinding, erotic, and revealing love story full of drama and poignancy–the sequel to Hotelles-in which a young French woman continues her carnal education in a mysterious Parisian hotel.

In a hotel room in Paris, a young woman named Elle experiences the most exquisite freedom and sensual pleasure she has ever known, thanks to Louis, the man who has conquered her completely.

So many things in life have changed since they first met. Her engagement to Louis’s deceptive brother, David, has been broken. Her mother has died. Yet Elle is wholly fulfilled with Louis, the master who heightens her senses and unleashes her deep, seductive power.

In the alluring Hotel des Charmes, Louis takes Elle beyond her wildest fantasies. Exploring the boudoirs devoted to other courtesans–Mademoiselle Josephine, Deschamps, Kitty Fisher, Cora Pearl, and Valtesse de la Bigne–Elle willingly opens herself further. In sublime self-abandonment she discovers absolute ecstasy, absolute sweetness, absolute desire.

Then David unexpectedly returns, stirring up painful memories and threatening their bliss. Elle fears her education may soon be over. . .

She does not understand that it has only just begun.

About the Author

(From Goodreads; translated by Babelfish)

Emma Mars est une auteure française de vingt ans. Ou trente. Peut-être même quarante. Elle a l’âge qu’elle veut, et la vie qu’elle aime à s’inventer, car elle n’apprécie rien tant que les passerelles entre la réalité (la sienne) et la fiction (celle qu’elle écrit). Quitte à mettre parfois un peu trop d’elle dans ses romans, et un peu trop de romanesque dans sa vie. Mais peu importe, c’est ce qui rend son existence passionnante, et l’espère-t-elle, ses livres assez captivants pour vous embarquer, vous lecteurs, dans ses errances sensuelles.

Emma March is a French author of twenty years. Or thirty. Maybe even forty. She is any age she wants to be, and the life she loves to invent, because she enjoys nothing as gateways between reality (Siena) and fiction (the one she wrote). Left to be sometimes a little too much of it in his novels, and a little too romantic in his life. But regardless, it is what makes her exciting life, and hope she, her books quite captivating to embark, you readers, in his sensual wanderings.

My Review

As I mentioned above, although I enjoyed 50 Shades of Grey, I wasn’t not a die hard fan- I thought the concept was interesting, but I hated Anastasia (I wanted her to stop being so weak and helpless). I went into Elle (and the first novel Hotelles) thinking that this was just going to be another meh book like 50 Shades of Grey. I have to say I was wrong. I didn’t love this book, it is no literary masterpiece that will be studied in school for years to come, but it was an enjoyable book. I enjoyed getting to know Elle and watching her develop as a character (especially sexually) and I enjoyed the little bit of mystery that was mixed in with the eroticism.

The overall concept was original and was well written. I found that I was intrigued to find out what was going to happen next and rather enjoyed the erotic parts (unlike 50 Shades where I got bored after a while [no I am not saying it wasn’t a turn on, but after a while it seemed predictable]). The sex scenes in Elle were arousing!  It was fun to continue Elle’s “carnal education in a mysterious Parisian hotel”.

Overall I thought this book was good, it had a good concept and a good main character. The book didn’t wow me, but maybe that’s only because I prefer my own imagination when it comes to eroticism (ha ha ha maybe that was a little TOO much information to share with everyone). I think this book was a lot of fun and I am interested to find out what happens next!

I give this book:

3.5 out of 5

Thank you to

20141020-205230.jpg

for allowing me to be part of the blog tour!

One thought on “Book Tour: Elle (Room Two in the Hotelles Trilogy) by Emma Mars

Leave a Reply

