Book Tour: Lowcountry Boneyard by Susan M. Boyer

After reading the synopsis of this book and seeing the cover there was no way I could say no to reviewing it. Not going to lie, for some inexplicable reason, the sentence “family secrets pop up like weeds in the azaleas” made me burst out laughing… Find out if I enjoyed this novel or if I thought the synopsis was the best part!

Lowcountry Boneyard

Lowcountry BoneyardTitle: Lowcountry Boneyard
Author: Susan M. Boyer
Publisher: Henery Press
Format: Paperback, 280 pages
Source: Received from TLC Book tours in exchange for an honest review

Links: Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Synopsis

Where is Kent Heyward? The twenty-three-year-old heiress from one of Charleston’s oldest families vanished a month ago. When her father hires private investigator Liz Talbot, Liz suspects the most difficult part of her job will be convincing the patriarch his daughter tired of his overbearing nature and left town. That’s what the Charleston Police Department believes.

But behind the garden walls South of Broad, family secrets pop up like weeds in the azaleas. The neighbors recollect violent arguments between Kent and her parents. Eccentric twin uncles and a gaggle of cousins covet the family fortune. And the lingering spirit of a Civil-War-era debutante may know something if Colleen, Liz’s dead best friend, can get her to talk.

Liz juggles her case, the partner she’s in love with, and the family she adores. But the closer she gets to what has become of Kent, the closer Liz dances to her own grave.

Praise: 

“Has everything you could want in a traditional mystery: a credible and savvy protagonist, a meaty mystery, and setting that will make you want to spend time in South Carolina. I enjoyed every minute of it.” – Charlaine Harris, New York Times Bestselling Author of Day Shift

About the Author

Susan Boyer

Susan M. Boyer is the author of the USA TODAY bestselling Liz Talbot mystery series. Her debut novel, Lowcountry Boilwon the 2012 Agatha Award for Best First Novel, the Daphne du Maurier Award for Excellence in Mystery/Suspense, and garnered several other award nominations. Susan loves beaches, Southern food, and small towns where everyone knows everyone, and everyone has crazy relatives.  You’ll find all of the above in her novels.

Susan lives in Greenville, SC, with her husband and an inordinate number of houseplants.

Find out more about Susan at her website, and connect with her on Facebook and Twitter.

My Review

I was a bit worried about picking up this book even though I thought the synopsis sounded really interesting. I had never read anything about Susan Boyer which meant that I had not read the other two novels, Lowcountry Boil or Lowcountry Bombshell, in the Liz Talbot Mystery Series, so I was worried that I was going to be completely confused since I was jumping into the third book. Luckily I wasn’t. The novel read as a standalone, and although I am sure the character development is better seen throughout all three novels, I found that I grew to like Liz and didn’t think I was missing anything from the other novels.

This book was well written and had its quirky moments, especially Liz’s dead best friend Colleen who seems to help her out quite a bit. Liz is sarcastic and humourous, which really captivated me, and reminded me of one of my friends who is captain sarcasm. Each of the characters in this book were very unique and colourful. They made the book such a joy to read, I didn’t want to put it down. I can definitely say that I am a Susan Boyer fan and will definitely be picking up her other two books mentioned above, and look forward to her fourth book that is coming out this year (in November I believe).

Overall, I thought this book was really well written and I absolutely loved the book.

I give this book:

4.5 hippos4.5 out of 5 Hippos

Thank you to

tlc logo

for allowing me to participate in this tour.

3 thoughts on “Book Tour: Lowcountry Boneyard by Susan M. Boyer

Leave a Reply

