Book Tour: The Invasion of the Tearling by Erika Johansen

I read The Queen of the Tearling last year as a review book. I didn’t really like it that much and I honestly cannot tell you why. I decided to give it another try when I saw that the second book, The Invasion of the Tearling, was coming out. I’m glad I gave it another go- I enjoyed it the second time around. Find out what I thought of the second book- The Invasion of the Tearling below.

The Invasion of the Tearling

The Invasion of the Tearling

Title: The Invasion of the Tearling
Author: Erika Johansen
Publisher: Harper
Format: Paperback, 511 pages
Source: Received from TLC Book Tours in exchange for an honest review

LinksAmazon | IndieBound | Barnes & Noble

Synopsis

In this riveting sequel to the national bestseller The Queen of the Tearling, the evil kingdom of Mortmesne invades the Tearling, with dire consequences for Queen Kelsea and her realm.

With each passing day, Kelsea Glynn is growing into her new responsibilities as Queen of the Tearling. By stopping the shipments of slaves to the neighboring kingdom of Mortmesne, Kelsea has crossed the brutal Red Queen, who derives her power from dark magic and who is sending her fearsome army into the Tearling to take what she claims is hers. And nothing can stop the invasion.

But as the Mort army draws ever closer, Kelsea develops a mysterious connection to a time before the Crossing. She finds herself relying on a strange and possibly dangerous ally: a woman named Lily, fighting for her life in a world where being female can feel like a crime. Soon Kelsea herself begins to change; she does not recognize either her reflection in the mirror or the extraordinary power she now commands. The fate of the Tearling—and that of Kelsea’s own soul—may rest with Lily and her story, but Queen Kelsea is running out of time.

In this second volume of the compelling trilogy begun with her bestselling The Queen of the Tearling, Erika Johansen brings back favorite characters and introduces unforgettable new players, adding exciting layers to her multidimensional tale of magic, mystery, and a fierce young heroine.

d9aa9-addtogoodreadsblack

About the Author

Erika Johansen grew up and lives in the San Francisco Bay Area. She went to Swarthmore College, earned an MFA from the Iowa Writers’ Workshop, and eventually became an attorney, but she never stopped writing.

My Review

When I first read The Queen of the Tearling I did not like the book. I don’t remember what rating I gave it, but I just remember I did not like it and probably didn’t even finish the book. I heard that the book was going to be a trilogy and that pretty much everyone else who read the book absolutely loved it. I couldn’t figure out why I hated it so much or why everyone else enjoyed it, so I figured I would give it another shot and I would also try the second book- The Invasion of the Tearling. Wow, did my opinion ever change when I read The Queen of the Tearling a second time. I don’t know what I was thinking, or if it was my mood, when I read the first book the first time. My second read through I really enjoyed it. But enough about the first book, this is a review of the second book, so let’s get on with that.

The Invasion of the Tearling takes Kelsea’s adventures even further. She has inner battles with herself and struggles to rule her kingdom. She develops as a character and it is really nice to see. Kelsea grows significantly in this second book, not so much for the better, but as everyone likes to say power corrupts and goes straight to your head. We definitely get to see this in The Invasion of the Tearling. We also get to see previous characters grow and are also introduced to new characters such as Lily who helps progress the story along.

Johansen’s writing, as with the first book is simple and straight forward. It is easy to understand the entire book is really easy to read. She doesn’t make her writing too flowery and over the top, which really helps the story move along. I enjoyed that this second book was written from two different perspectives. It helped to enhance Kelsea’s story, but also gave you an additional perspective of the world.

There are still a number of things that are left unanswered, especially surrounding Kelsea’s father.

Readers beware- there is sex, violence and rape in this book.

Overall this book was good and I enjoyed it. It didn’t wow me like some other books, but it was a good read. If you enjoyed The Queen of the Tearling, then I recommend you pick up The Invasion of the Tearling. if you are like me and didn’t like The Queen of the Tearling try giving it a second chance.

I give this book

3.5 out of 5

Thank you to

tlc logo

for allowing me to participate in this tour.

2 thoughts on “Book Tour: The Invasion of the Tearling by Erika Johansen

  1. Pingback: Erika Johansen, author of The Invasion of the Tearling, on tour June/July 2015 | TLC Book Tours

Leave a Reply

